The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

14 Apr

The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People was written by Stephen R. Covey. The seven habits that are brought up by Stephen R. Covey in his book are, be proactive, begin with the end in mind, put first things first, think win win, seek first to understand then be understood, synergize and sharpen the saw. I feel that out of these habits I obtain begin with the end in mind, seek first to understand then be understood and think win-win. I always begin with the end in mind. I am consistently meeting deadlines. I set aside the required time needed to end a task and am proud of these tasks when they are completed. The second habit I have is seek first to understand then be understood. I feel you have to walk before you can run so you need to learn in order to teach others. You must remain open minded and intake what others say. Lastly think win- win People who are pessimistic don’t go far in life I always look at the glass half full and don’t take for granted what I have. I also try my best to give that optimistic outlook to others so it enforces a more positive environment.

I apply all of these habits in my everyday life at college always saying to myself I can do it not that I cant. If I didn’t do this assignments would take much longer than they do because I wouldn’t think I could do them. I always meet the deadlines. I meet them because it is crazy to miss an assignment or not do a task on time as our academic penalty is 20 percent a day. I am always learning so I am understanding in order to be understood. I always make the effort to go the extra mile and see what I got out of each class or lecture.

These traits follow you right through to the work place each and every one allows you to be an overall well rounded person which gives you life traits which others see as desirable. Meeting deadlines, being open minded, being optimistic, team work and critiquing yourself are all life skills that are desirable by any employer.

This is short form link of all the habits along with an analysis.

http://www.businessballs.com/sevenhabitsstevencovey.htm

Along with a Youtube video that is an analysis of the book

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-Oq1OamSjI

Leave a comment